Directory > Bonaparte > Aunty Green Hotel Museum
Aunty Green Hotel Museum
210 Washington St.
Bonaparte, IA 52620
Bonaparte, IA - National Historic Register - 1977
The Aunty Green building, which is now Bonaparte's Museum. It has a collection of historic photos, curios, and other memorabilia of Bonaparte.
John and Mary Green came by ship from England and constructed the house in 1844. This home was the first brick building in Bonaparte. The Green's converted the house into a hotel to accommodate railroad personnel around 1855.
The two-story structure with a picturesque second-story porch was also owned at various times by the Meek and Cresap families of Bonaparte. It has been an apartment house, a cream station and a dwelling/gas station in 1960.
The Aunty Green was neglected for a period of ten years, and as a result, was condemned by the Bonaparte Town Council. Vandals had thrown rocks through the windows and defaced its bricks. An extensive restoration project took place from 1971-1973.
The museum is open by appointment or on special events (call numbers above).